LAUSD Board Honors LMU Family of Schools, Partners, for Academic Excellence

The Loyola Marymount University Family of Schools – a collaborative dedicated to promoting student success and educational equity for schools in Westchester, Playa del Rey and Playa Vista – was recognized on Tuesday, Oct. 17, by the Los Angeles Unified School District Board of Education.

“It is an honor to be recognized by LAUSD and to work together with an amazing group of principals to improve educational outcomes for all students in our community,” said Darin Earley, director of the LMU Family of Schools. “Through our continued efforts, we look forward to continuing to strengthen the educational pipeline so all students have the opportunity to succeed.”

Launched in 2006 by LMU’s School of Education in partnership with LAUSD, the Family of Schools initiative has helped link the university to schools within the surrounding community.

As a result, LMU educators and students have provided FOS partners with additional resources, professional development and coaching opportunities, and experiential learning experiences designed to promote a positive school culture, college readiness and academic success.

The LAUSD FOS partners are: Westchester Enriched Sciences Magnet High School-WESM, New Middle School Pathway, Wright Middle School Steam Magnet, Cowan Avenue Elementary, Kentwood Elementary, Loyola Village Elementary, Paseo Del Rey Elementary, Playa Vista Elementary, Westport Heights Elementary, Westside Innovation School House-WISH Community School (K-8) and WISH Academy High School. FOS also supports four Catholic Archdiocesan schools.